Barbados News

Thorne Commission To Be Launched July 10

The Thorne Commission on Local Governance will be launched on Wednesday, July 10, at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Two Mile Hill, St. Michael, beginning at 10:00 a.m.

The commission, which falls under the purview of the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs, has been created to oversee the process of establishing community-based people’s assemblies in Barbados.

It is the first step towards the establishment of community-based, people participatory governance structures.

Over the upcoming year, the commission will consult with the public and private sectors, trade unions, educational institutions and members of the public to inform the process.

In an effort to restore a secure, positive and healthy development path to the island, it has been recognized that citizens must work collectively. Therefore, an institutional structure is required to facilitate the participation of people in national and local governance affairs.

Key to participation will be the spirit of volunteerism, and the need for people to “give back” to the country.

The Thorne Commission on Local Governance will be chaired by Member of Parliament and attorney-at-law, Ralph Thorne, while Barbados’ Ambassador to CARICOM, David Comissiong, will be the deputy.

The other members are: Richard Carter, Krystal Howell, Jennifer Walker, Adrian Donovan, Sherwood McCaskie, Cheryl Hunte, Peter Skeete, Barney Gibbs and Mohamed Ali Nana.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.