Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation

The most credible news source in Barbados

First Caribbean Premier League title for Patriots

September 15, 2021

Dominic Drakes produced a blinder as St Kitts and Nevis Patriots captured their first-ever Caribbean Premier League title with a stunning last-ball win over St Lucia Kings today.

Chasing 160 for victory at Warner Park, the hosts reached their target off the last ball of the innings to complete a three-wicket victory and inflict heartbreak on Kings for the second year running.

The left-handed Drakes, better known for his seam bowling, top-scored with an unbeaten 48 off 24 deliveries, smashing three fours and sixes, while Joshua Da Silva chipped in with 37 and Sherfane Rutherford, 25.

Patriots were struggling at 75 for four but Drakes, promoted to number six, put on a crucial 44 for the sixth wicket with Fabien Allen (20) to turn the tide.

Earlier, both Rahkeem Cornwall and Roston Chase hit 43 while Keemo Paul came late to blast 39 as Kings, opting to bat first, tallied 159 for seven off their 20 overs.

Fast bowler Naseem Shah (2-26) and leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed (2-32) both snapped up two wickets apiece.

Kings were beaten in the final of last year’s tournament by Trinbago Knight Riders.



*+A Fletcher c Cottrell b Fawad Ahmed 11

R Cornwall b Allen 43

M Deyal c Rutherford b Drakes 1

R Chase b Naseem Shah 43

D Wiese b Jaggesar 2

T David b Fawad Ahmed 10

K Paul c sub (J Carter) b Naseem Shah 39

W Riaz not out 2

J Royal not out 0

Extras (w8) 8

TOTAL (7 wkts, 20 overs) 159

Did not bat: A Joseph, K Williams 

Fall of wickets: 1-25, 2-32, 3-76, 4-81, 5-100, 6-128, 7-157

Bowling: Cottrell 1-0-12-0 (w1), Allen 4-0-17-0 (w2), Fawad Ahmed 4-0-32-2, Naseem Shah 4-1-26-2 (w2), Drakes 3-0-38-1 (w3), Jaggesar 4-0-34-1.


C Gayle b Chase 0

E Lewis c Chase b Wahab Riaz 6

+J Da Silva c Wiese b Williams 37

S Rutherford c & b Joseph 25

*DJ Bravo c Paul b Wiese 8

D Drakes not out 48

F Allen c Paul b Wahab Riaz 20

S Cottrell run out 5

Naseem Shah not out 1

Extras (lb2, w7, nb1) 10

TOTAL (7 wkts, 20 overs) 160

Did not bat: J Jaggesar, Fawad Ahmed 

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-26, 3-71, 4-75, 5-95, 6-139, 7-151.

Bowling: Chase 3-0-17-1 (w1), Wahab 4-0-36-2 (w1), Joseph 3-0-22-1, Wiese 3-0-27-1, Royal 2-0-19-0 (w2), Deyal 1-0-8-0 (w2), Williams 4-0-29-1.

Result: Patriots won by three wickets.

Series: Patriots win 2021 CPL title.

Man-of-the-Match: Dominic Drakes.

Toss: Kings.

Umpires: Deighton Butler, Leslie Reifer; TV – Zahid Bassarath.

Share this!