February 2, 2023

Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation

The most credible news source in Barbados

Windies draw England in T20 CWC opener

August 17th, 2021

Defending champions, the West Indies, will take on England in their first game of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 at the Dubai International Stadium on October 23rd.

It was confirmed today as the ICC unveiled the complete schedule of the 16 team event.

Skipper Kieron Pollard and his West Indies team will look to get the defence of their title off to a winning start in what will be a re-run of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2016 final at Eden Gardens, which saw them snatch the title from England thanks to Carlos Brathwaite’s four consecutive sixes in the last over.

Pollard says the Windies are ready to defend their title, while former skipper Darren Sammy, who was part of the unveiling ceremony this morning, has picked them as the favourites.

South Africa and Australia join West Indies and England in Group 1 of the super 12s along with two yet-to-be-determined qualifiers from round 1.

The West Indies will also play South Africa on October 26th at the Dubai International Stadium followed by playing the winners of the qualifying round 1 on October 29th and November 4th.

West Indies will also play Australia on November 6th at the Abu Dhabi International Stadium.

Sri Lanka, champions in 2014, and Bangladesh, Ireland, Namibia, Netherlands, Oman, Papau New Guinea and Scotland, feature in round 1 of the 16-team tournament, being hosted by India but played in the United Arab Emirates and Oman through to the November 14th final.

Share this!