Wednesday, Dec 19, 2018

Domino season begins

Domino season begins
21 Feb

As of this year, any registered players or teams involved in unsanctioned dominoes tournaments will be severely punished by the Association.

This was revealed by the president of the National Dominoes Association Shawn Burke at the launch of the 2018 season.

President Burke said that all parties wishing to host domino tournaments on the island must first seek permission from the Association or face sanctions.

He added that the federation will be working closely with school tournaments to ensure longevity of the sport in Barbados.

Some 112 teams including two new teams were on parade around the Combermere school grounds.

However, the best team on parade was Police Sports Club Lucrozade/Slam-O-Dom.

Carlton A1 Braves took home most of the awards from 2017, including Team of the Year and the Mount Gay League title.

Sharon Lynch also of Braves won the top award - the Three Hand Queen title, and also the female pairs with Pat Harbin-Jones, while team mate Roland Jones took home the top male award - the Three Hand King.

The male pair champions were Troy Thomas and Andrew Seale of Mount Gay K C Joint, while Decourntley Estwick and Marsha Dephadine of Stag Weasels won the President's Pair award.

The 2018 season is set to begin this Sunday in the Four Hand League.