Friday, Jul 19, 2019

Warriors clinch one-ball thriller to storm into CPL final

Warriors clinch one-ball thriller to storm into CPL final
12 Sep

In what has widely been termed the most engaging Hero Caribbean Premier League season of all, the Guyana Amazon Warriors have defied predictions to become the first to reach the final.

Retaining the core of their players with some smart new purchases proved immense for the Amazon Warriors, as they beat table-toppers Trinbago Knight Riders for the second time in a row to move to Sunday’s final.

Sherfane Rutherford made a stupendous 17-ball 30 knock, while Shimron Hetmyer (39 off 36 balls) was equally brilliant. But Romario Shepherd and Sohail Tanvir proved to be the magicians at the end to ensure the Warriors reach their fourth final in the six-year CPL history.

Earlier, on a chilly night at Providence, it was the Trinbago Knight Riders who were caught cold. The Amazon Warriors were simply too good, too slick and too well-drilled upfront. Deciding to bowl first on a good batting wicket, the Warriors’ bowlers played their part to restrict the Knight Riders’ powerful batting line-up to just 122-7.

This score looked unlikely, when they were reduced to 26-4 in the powerplay.

Darren Bravo (24) and Colin Ingram (25), were involved in an important partnership. Though neither of them managed to get going, it allowed the duo of Dwayne Bravo (22) and Kevin Cooper (15) to up the ante towards the end.

Tanvir (2-38), gave the hosts the first break through, when he trapped Brendon McCullum leg before wicket without scoring in the first over. But it was their slow bowlers, particularly Chris Green, who seized the early momentum with tight lines and immaculate, unhittable lengths. His four overs went for just eight runs with the wickets of Colin Munro (0) and Sunil Narine (8).

Munroe, the leading run-scorer this season, was caught at extra cover, while Narine was taken at mid-off.

Denesh Ramdin came and hit three fours off Tanvir in the third over, but leg-spinner Imran Tahir (1-22), prevented the Knight Riders from gathering momentum when he trapped Ramdin LBW in the fifth over.

Ingram and Darren Bravo joined forces in the middle, but despite a few boundaries, the innings meandered along at a glacial pace.

Bravo was put down by Tanvir at mid-off, but after returning for his second spell, the Pakistani produced a length ball that shaped away from Bravo, which took the edge through to the keeper.

Soon after, Emrit (2-22), removed Ingram before Dwayne Bravo and Cooper took the score past 120.

For the Amazon Warriors, the target was never out of reach, though they faltered at the start. The Knight Riders then looked like making it difficult for the three-time finalists, reducing them to 52-5 at the end of the 12th over. But their calculated run-chase saw the Amazon Warriors reach the target in 19.5 overs.

Knight Riders spinners – Fawad Ahmed (1-19), Sunil Narine (1-9) and Khary Pierre (2-18), did well to contain the Warriors batsmen up front.

Ahmed removed Cameron Delport (2), while Pierre claimed Luke Ronchi (13), and Chris Green (0), Narine had Jason Mohammed (3) before Chadwick Walton was run out for 13, but Hetmyer and Rutherford then swung the tide in the Warriors’ favour.

Most Read


Grand Kadooment Online

August 5 - Watch Grand Kadooment Online

Click here to sign up

Pic-O-De Crop Finals Online

August 2 - Watch Finals Here

Click here to sign up

Soca Monarch Online

July 28 - Watch Soca Monarch Finals

Click here to sign up