Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation

The most credible news source in Barbados

Parliamentary Reform Commission reconstituted

February 10, 2023

The Parliamentary Reform Commission has been reconstituted as Government looks towards the future and Parliament serving another generation of Barbadians.

It was agreed to back in late 2020 and since that time Barbados moved from a constitutional monarchy to a Republic.

Attorney General and Acting Minister of Home Affairs, Dale Marshall says other events, including general elections also impacted on the Parliament.

The Constitution Reform Commission and the Thorne Commission on Local Governance were established.

According to Mr. Marshall, the Commission will review what Parliament is and how it functions.

He says the Parliamentary Reform Commission will once again be chaired by Sir Richard Cheltenham and his Deputy will be Sir Roy Trotman,

Other members include Professor Velma Newton, Dr. Richard Ishmael, Ambassador Senator Elizabeth Thompson and William Chandler.

Representatives have also been forwarded by the Democratic Labour Party and former Opposition Leader, Bishop Joseph Atherley.

They are Maxine McClean to represent the DLP, and Corey Beckles on behalf of Bishop Atherley.

Pedro Eastmond, the current Clerk of Parliament will serve as Secretary to the Commission.

Mr. Marshall is hopeful the work of the Commission can be completed in six months.

About The Author

Share this!