Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation

The most credible news source in Barbados

Matthews creates history

April 16, 2024

Barbados and West Indies all-rounder Hayley Matthews has created history, being named in this year’s edition of Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack, which was published today.

Matthews is the first female to be named the Leading Twenty20 Cricketer, after a run of eight consecutive T20 International match awards, in which she averaged 88 with the bat at a strike-rate of 144, and averaged 12 with the ball.

Overall in 2023, Matthews scored 1,551 runs at an average of 35.25, while she took 57 wickets at 18.84.

The Leading Cricketers in the World awards are chosen by the editor of the Wisden Cricketers’ Almanack in consultation with some of the world’s most experienced writers and commentators.

Selection is based on a player’s performances in the previous calendar.

The T20 award is judged by the same criteria, and may be won by a male or female player.

As for the five Wisden Cricketers of the Year, they are Australia’s male players Mitchell Starc and Usman Khawaja, England’s Harry Brook and Mark Wood, along with Australia’s female player Ashleigh Gardner.

About The Author

Share this!